Longest Contracts in Franchise History For Each MLB Team

Hope you all find this information helpful! I got inspired to compile this after having difficulty finding it all in a single place. I’ve pulled all of the data from various sources, and while I cannot attest to its completeness, the table provides a fairly comprehensive look at the longest contracts for each Major League Baseball team.

If you find something I am missing or incorrect data, please drop me a comment so I can add/change. As time allows, I may expand or create a separate page for each team. But for now, I am happy to have this much contract information on a single page for my personal (and yours!) reference.

Some fun facts about longest contracts

Team with the longest contract

San Diego Padres signed Fernando Tatis Jr. to a 14-year contract on February 17, 2021.

Team with the shortest “longest contract”

Kansas City Royals (4 years)

Table with All Teams’ Longest Contracts

Arizona Diamondbacks 6 years
Yasmany Tomas
Zack Greinke
5 years
Miguel Montero ($60M, 2013-2017)
4 years
Madison Bumgarner
Atlanta Braves 8 years
Freddie Freeman
Ronald Acuna Jr.
7 years
Ozzie Albies
Baltimore Orioles 7 years
Chris Davis
5 years
Albert Belle
Scott Erickson
Boston Red Sox 7 years
Carl Crawford
Rusney Castillo
David Price
Chicago Cubs 8 years
Alfonso Soriano
Jason Heyward ($184M)
6 years
Jon Lester ($155M, 2015-2020)
4 years
Edwin Jackson
Kosuke Fokudome
Todd Hundley
Kyle Hendricks
Chicago White Sox 6 years
Luis Robert
Eloy Jimenez
Tim Anderson
Cincinnati Reds 10 years
Joey Votto
9 years
Ken Griffey Jr.
6 years
Jay Bruce
Cleveland Indians 10 years
Wayne Garland
6 years
Jose Ramirez
4 years
Travis Hafner
Colorado Rockies 11 years
Todd Helton
8 years
Mike Hampton
7 years
Nolan Arenado
Detroit Tigers 9 years
Prince Fielder
8 years
Miguel Cabrera
5 years
Jordan Zimmerman
Houston Astros 7 years
Justin Verlander
Jose Altuve
5 years
Yuli Gurriel
Jon Singleton
Alex Bregman
Lance McCullers Jr.
Kansas City Royals 4 years
Salvador Perez
Hunter Dozier
Whit Merrifield
Omar Infante
Los Angeles Angels 10 years
Mike Trout
Albert Pujols ($240M, 2012-2021)
6 years
Mo Vaughn
Los Angeles Dodgers 12 years
Mookie Betts
7 years
Kevin Brown
Hector Olivera
Miami Marlins 10 years
Giancarlo Stanton
7 years
Jose Reyes
5 years
Sandy Alcantara
Milwaukee Brewers 7 years
Christian Yelich
4 years
Matt Garza
Jeff Suppan
Minnesota Twins 8 years
Joe Mauer
7 years
Byron Buxton
5 years
Max Kepler
New York Yankees 10 years
Dave Winfield
Alex Rodriguez
Derek Jeter
9 years
Gerrit Cole
New York Mets 10 years
Francisco Lindor
8 years
David Wright
Oakland Athletics 6 years
Eric Chavez ($66M, 2004-2009)
5 years
Jose Canseco
3 years
Esteban Loaiza
Philadelphia Phillies 13 years
Bryce Harper
5 years
Ryan Howard
Zach Wheeler
J.T. Realmuto
Jean Segura
Pittsburgh Pirates 6 years
Jason Kendall
Andrew McCutchen
3 years
Francisco Liriano
Ivan Nova
San Diego Padres 14 years
Fernando Tatis ($340M, 2021-2034)
10 years
Manny Machado
8 years
Eric Hosmer
San Francisco Giants 8 years
Buster Posey
7 years
Barry Zito
6 years
Matt Cain
Seattle Mariners 10 years
Robinson Cano
6 years
Evan White
5 years
Adrian Beltre
Robbie Ray
St. Louis Cardinals 6 years
Paul DeJong
5 years
Paul Goldschmidt
Dexter Fowler
Tampa Bay Rays 11 years
Wander Franco
6 years
Evan Longoria
Kevin Kiermaier
Chris Archer
Brandon Lowe
Texas Rangers 10 years
Corey Seager
Alex Rodriguez
Richie Zisk
Toronto Blue Jays 7 years
Jose Berrios
Vernon Wells ($126M, 2007-2013)
6 years
George Springer
Washington Nationals 7 years
Jayson Werth
Stephen Strasburg
6 years
Patrick Corbin
Ryan Zimmerman
About Wesley Lyles 117 Articles
Wesley is a jack of all trades hobbyist. Though much of his spare time is spent playing board games (especially solo card games like Legendary), Hearthstone, Rocket League, and MLB The Show.e He also enjoys most sports, but pays way too much attention to baseball and football.